Posted by: kaleidophonic | October 4, 2011

Some tasty tidbits from Steve Reich

Hey hey, happy Tuesday!

Today I’m going to pass on some musical treats that my buddy Glo turned me on to. It’s an NPR feature on Steve Reich, the minimalist composer who is considered by some to be the greatest living composer in America. High praise indeed!

I don’t usually listen to minimalist or ambient music, but every now and then I like to branch out from the comfy confines of my garagepunk cave and hone my ears on some more sophisticated fare. (Hence my affection for Sun Ra, who was the subject of Episode 22 of the Incredible Kaleidophone radio show). So if you’re into the avant-garde, or even if you’re not, you should check this stuff out – NPR has assembled playable tracks from some of Reich’s most iconic works, starting with the 1965 tape loops that revolutionized American composition. Far out, man.

Tomorrow I will be back with the first of what will probably turn into a series of posts on another far-out avant-garde moment of the Sixties, that is Montreal’s Expo 67.

Until then, stay cool, my little Kaleidolings.

Responses

  1. It’s ‘cuz it was his 75th b-day yesterday. 😀


What do you think?

Categories

