Posted by: kaleidophonic | October 19, 2011

Sounds of silence?

Okay, so clearly I’m not so good at this post-a-day thing. Maybe I should go for something a little less intense, like post-every-second-day? Hmm.

It’s been a bit busy ’round here, what can I say. Saturday night I went to see Glo perform with the St. Lawrence Choir, in a beautiful church. They performed a series of Russian pieces, including Rachmaninoff’s Vigils, around Russian Orthodox prayers sung throughout a night of vigil. Hearing all those voices together resounding through the walls was a pretty powerful experience.

Then on Monday I took a break from microfilm to have lunch with two buds, one of whom is studying acoustic engineering (or something like that). Afterwards we had a great conversation about theories of sound and society. Then he turned me on to this lecture: The Soundscape of Modernity. I havn’t had time to watch it yet, but you can bet I’ll get back to it soon.

I’ve been reading yards of microfilm, geeking out about how amazing it is to read day-to-day reports of what’s happening in Montreal in the early 1970s. Pretty rough, actually, with serious work stoppages, strikes, and demonstrations daily, as well as daily acts of violence and terrorism. Why don’t our Canadian history courses include all this context when teaching the October Crisis? Sigh.

Speaking of Montreal’s history, I thought I’d leave you with another Expo 67 track. This one’s a real gem, the Jamaican group the Melodians groove on the “Last Train to Expo 67”. First the original version, then a ska cover by The Kingpins. Dig them both, and I’ll catch you again in a day or two. Peace out.

 

What do you think?

Categories

